Trestman, Bears now 'morning people' in training camp

Trestman, Bears now 'morning people' in training camp
June 27, 2013, 1:30 pm
Share This Post

They won’t be wearing throwback uniforms, but the Bears will be stepping back into a practice schedule from coaches past when training camp convenes July 26 in Bourbonnais.

[RELATED: Cutler, Melton left off NFL's Top 100 players list]
 
Coach Marc Trestman is bringing back the 9 a.m. daily practice session, the custom followed under Mike Ditka and Dave Wannstedt. Practices are generally planned to run until 11:30 a.m., with two 3:15 p.m. practices (Monday Aug. 5, Sunday Aug. 11) and the traditional Soldier Field practice at 6:45 p.m. on Saturday Aug. 3.

[MORE: Mixing golf and football works well for Gould, Trestman, Urlacher]
 
Trestman has done away with nearly all of the mid-afternoon practices that were frequently nightmares in searing heat and humidity, occasionally causing coaches to alter plans and give the players the session without full pads as scheduled.
 
Per notes provided by the team:
 
** The gates to training camp will open at 9:00 a.m. for morning practices.
 
** The “Team” portions of these practices (the segments of practice in which the offense runs plays against the defense) will begin at approximately 10:00 a.m. Players will be stretching and running “individual/positional” drills from approximately 9-10 a.m.

[MORE: Chad Johnson works out with Brandon Marshall and Alshon Jeffery]
 
** Camp grounds, which will stay open for approximately 90 minutes following practice, will include family-friendly events like a kids interactive area, radio remotes from local and national sports radio stations, a pro shop, promotional areas with games and prizes from Bears partners and potential autograph opportunities from Bears players and coaches. The Bears will also be hosting a brand new concert series immediately following practices on the select dates listed below.
 
** For practices starting at 3:15 p.m., gates will open at approximately 2:30 pm.
 
** Parking lots will open one hour prior to gates opening.
 
Practice times and availability are subject to change.

 

Day Date Practice Time
Thursday July 25 No practice/closed to public
Friday July 26 9-11:30 a.m.
Saturday July 27 9-11:30 a.m.
Sunday July 28 9-11:30 a.m.
Monday July 29 9-11:30 a.m.
Tuesday July 30 No practice/closed to public
Wednesday July 31 9-11:30 a.m.
Thursday Aug. 1 9-11:30 a.m.
Friday Aug. 2 9-11:30 a.m.
Saturday Aug. 3 6:45-8:45 p.m. (Soldier Field)
Sunday Aug. 4 No practice/closed to public
Monday Aug. 5 3:15-5 p.m.
Tuesday Aug. 6 9-11:30 a.m.
Wednesday Aug. 7 9-11:30 a.m.
Thursday Aug. 8 No practice/closed to public
Friday Aug. 9 No practice/closed to public
Saturday Aug. 10 No practice/closed to public
Sunday Aug. 11 3:15-5 p.m.
Monday Aug. 12 9-11:30 a.m.
Tuesday Aug. 13 9-11:30 a.m.
Wednesday Aug. 14 Break camp/closed to public