Bears name five team captains for 2013

Bears name five team captains for 2013
September 6, 2013, 5:00 pm
Share This Post

CSN Staff

By Charlie Roumeliotis

Bears players elected five team captains for the 2013-14 season Friday.

Jay Cutler and Roberto Garza will each serve as captains on the offensive side of the ball, while Lance Briggs and Julius Peppers were picked as captains for the defense. Patrick Mannelly will represent the special teams.

This will be the sixth straight year Mannelly has been a team captain, with Cutler a Bears captain for the fifth time and Garza for the third. Peppers has been a team captain each season since joining the Bears in 2010, while Briggs has also previously served in a captain's role.

[MORE: Bennett pay cut creates cap space, and questions]

Here's a look at past season-opening Bears captains:

2006: Olin Kreutz, Muhsin Muhammad, Brian Urlacher, Patrick Mannelly, Mike Brown.

2007: Kreutz, Urlacher, Mannelly, Brown, Muhammad, Adewale Ogunleye, Brendon Ayanbadejo.

2008: Kreutz, Urlacher, Mannelly, Brown.

2009: Kreutz, Urlacher, Mannelly, Ogunleye, Jay Cutler.

2010: Kreutz, Urlacher, Mannelly, Cutler, Julius Peppers.

2011: Cutler, Urlacher, Mannelly, Peppers, Roberto Garza.

2012: Cutler, Urlacher, Mannelly, Peppers, Garza.

2013: Cutler, Mannelly, Peppers, Garza, Lance Briggs.