Buckeyes, Spartans dominate All-Big Ten teams, year-end honors

Buckeyes, Spartans dominate All-Big Ten teams, year-end honors
December 2, 2013, 7:15 pm
Share This Post
Vinnie Duber

Unsurprisingly, the two teams that went undefeated in Big Ten play dominated the conference's postseason honors.

The Big Ten released the selections for both the coaches and media All-Big Ten teams on Monday, and Ohio State and Michigan State were the most well-represented schools on the rosters.

The Buckeyes' dynamic offensive duo of quarterback Braxton Miller and running back Carlos Hyde got to add a few lines to each of their resumes, as both were named to the coaches and media All-Big Ten First Team. Additionally, Miller was named the conference's Quarterback of the Year, while Hyde was named the conference's Running Back of the Year.

Both players effectively missed three games each this year for separate reasons — Hyde was suspended, Miller was injured — though finished the regular season as the Big Ten's finest offensive players. In 10 games, Miller passed for 1,759 yards and 21 touchdowns, adding 891 yards and eight touchdowns on the ground. Hyde, meanwhile, rushed for 1,290 yards and 14 touchdowns in nine games. Both players have two more opportunities to add to those eye-popping numbers in the Big Ten Championship Game on Saturday and in the Buckeyes' eventual bowl game.

Other Buckeyes who showed up on First Team rosters include center Corey Linsley, guard Andrew Norwell, defensive lineman Noah Spence, linebacker Ryan Shazier and defensive back Bradley Roby.

[MORE: AD says Tim Beckman will stay on as Illini head coach]

And while Ohio State's big offensive playmakers gained starring roles, the same can be said about the main contributors on Michigan State's dominant defense. Of the six Spartans named to the coaches First team, five were defenders, led by defensive lineman Shilique Calhoun and defensive back Darqueze Dennard, who both won player of the year honors at their respective positions.

In 12 games, Calhoun recorded 13.5 tackles for loss and seven sacks, while Dennard picked off four passes and broke up eight.

Linebacker Max Bullough, defensive back Kurtis Drummond, defensive back Isaiah Lewis and punter Mike Sadler were other First Teams members.

Other players of the year included Receiver of the Year Allen Robinson (Penn State), Tight End of the Year Devin Funchess (Michigan), Offensive Lineman of the Year Taylor Lewan (Michigan), Linebacker of the Year Chris Borland (Wisconsin), Kicker of the Year Jeff Budzien (Northwestern) and Punter of the Year Cody Webster (Purdue).

Other notable players named to either First Team were Nebraksa running back Ameer Abdullah, Wisconsin wide receiver Jared Abbrederis, Minnesota defensive lineman Ra'Shede Hageman and Penn State defensive lineman DaQuan Jones.