Buckeyes-Tar Heels becomes casualty of nine-game B1G schedule

Buckeyes-Tar Heels becomes casualty of nine-game B1G schedule
August 13, 2014, 4:30 pm
Share This Post
Vinnie Duber

The nine-game Big Ten conference schedule is coming, and it's forced a Power 5 matchup off the calendar.

Bad news if you were looking forward to Ohio State vs. North Carolina in 2017 and 2018. That series has been scrapped thanks to the expansion of the Big Ten's conference slate.

“The Big Ten’s move to nine conference games each year beginning in 2016 resulted in the cancellation of our series with Ohio State, which was scheduled for 2017 and 2018," North Carolina athletics director Bubba Cunningham said in the school's release. "Coach (Larry) Fedora and I will continue to look to add exciting matchups both in Kenan Stadium and on the road as we complete our future schedules.”

[MORE BIG TEN: Christian Hackenberg becomes Penn State's first-ever sophomore captain]

This knocks Ohio State's currently scheduled non-conference games down to one in both 2017 and 2018. The Buckeyes host Oklahoma in 2017 and travel to play TCU in 2018.

At Big Ten Media Day last month, Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany said the conference would focus on what he called the "1910" model for future scheduling: one game against another Power 5 team, nine conference games, a conference championship game and no games against FCS opponents.