Northwestern's Jeff Budzien named Big Ten Kicker of the Year

Northwestern's Jeff Budzien named Big Ten Kicker of the Year
December 2, 2013, 5:45 pm
Share This Post
Vinnie Duber

It was a rough season for Northwestern, but it ended slightly better for the team's kicker.

The Big Ten announced its postseason award-winners Monday, and Northwestern kicker Jeff Budzien's name popped up in several different places. He was named to both the coaches and media All-Big Ten First Teams, and he was named the Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year.

No one made more field goals in all of college football this season than Budzien's 23, a Northwestern single-season record. He was the Big Ten's leading scorer this season, accounting for 104 total points. Only Ohio State running back Carlos Hyde averaged more points per game than Budzien, who also led the conference in field goals made (23) and extra-point percentage (100 percent). He ranked second in field-goal percentage. Budzien made 23-of-25, while Michigan State's Michael Geiger connected on 12-of-13.

[MORE: AD says Tim Beckman will stay on as Illini head coach]

Budzien finished the season as Northwestern's all-time leading scorer.

The Northwestern senior was a co-Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year last season, making this the second time he's earned the honor.