Tom Izzo matches Lou Henson on all-time Big Ten wins list

Tom Izzo matches Lou Henson on all-time Big Ten wins list
January 15, 2014, 8:15 pm
Share This Post
Vinnie Duber

Tom Izzo is now tied with an Illini legend.

Michigan State's win over Northwestern on Wednesday night was Izzo's 214th career Big Ten victory, tying him for fourth place on the all-time list with former Illinois head coach Lou Henson.

Henson also racked up 214 wins in his Big Ten career, which spanned 21 seasons as the head man in Champaign from 1975 to 1996. That included 12 trips to the NCAA tournament and a march to the Final Four with the Flyin' Illini in 1989. Henson's 31 wins in that 1988-89 season rank second all-time in Illinois history, trailing just the 37 during the 2004-05 campaign.

[MORE: Upset of Badgers gives young Hoosiers needed boost]

Izzo is in his 19th season at Michigan State. He's taken the Spartans to 16 NCAA tournaments, won seven Big Ten titles, been to six Final Fours and won the 2000 national championship.

Michigan State's next win will move Izzo into sole possession of fourth place on the list.

The Michigan State head coach still has a long way to go to reach the all-time Big Ten wins record of 353, held by former Indiana head coach Bob Knight. A pair of Purdue legends, Gene Keady and Ward Lambert, rank second and third with 265 and 228 wins, respectively.