Wolverines' Nik Stauskas leads Big Ten award winners

Wolverines' Nik Stauskas leads Big Ten award winners
March 11, 2014, 11:15 am
Share This Post
Vinnie Duber

Michigan might need to order a new trophy case.

Just days after the Wolverines won their first outright regular-season Big Ten championship since 1986, sophomore guard Nik Stauskas was named the conference's Player of the Year by both coaches and the media on Monday.

The Michigan sophomore seemed the logical choice for the award during much of the season. He finished fourth in the league in scoring, averaging 17.4 points per game, and third in both 3-pointers made and 3-point percentage. He was the Wolverines' leading scorer as the team sat atop the Big Ten standings from start to finish.

[MORE: Do Crawford, Northwestern have a few more miracles?]

Stauskas led the charge in the Big Ten's postseason honors, landing on both All-Big Ten First Teams in addition to his Player of the Year award. Michigan State guard Gary Harris, Iowa guard Roy Devyn Marble, Nebraska guard Terran Petteway and Wisconsin center Frank Kamisnky made up the rest of the team. Both the coaches and the media selected the same teams.

Other individual honors went to Ohio State guard Aaron Craft, who won Defensive Player of the Year, and Indiana center Noah Vonleh, who was named the conference's Freshman of the Year. Nebraska coach Tim Miles was the coaches' choice for Coach of the Year, while the media picked Michigan's John Beilein. The Sixth Man of the Year was Wisconsin freshman Nigel Hayes.

Here's a complete list of all the members of the various All-Big Ten teams and honorable mentions.