Blackhawks open season Oct. 1; full schedule released

Blackhawks open season Oct. 1; full schedule released

July 19, 2013, 12:45 pm
Share This Post
Nina Falcone

The NHL released its 2013-14 regular-season schedule on Friday and the Blackhawks will raise their fifth Stanley Cup championship banner against the Washington Capitals Oct. 1 at the United Center.

[RELATED: Andrew Shaw returns home to Ontario with the Stanley Cup]

The schedule includes a league-wide break from Feb. 9 to Feb. 26 for the Olympics, as the NHL and NHLPA have made an agreement with the Ice Hockey Federation to send players to Sochi, Russia to participate in the Winter Games. 

Every year, the Blackhawks head on their ice show trip, and this season, that seven-game road series leads up to the Olympics, meaning Chicagoans won't see a game played at the United Center from Jan. 26-March 4. But "Chelsea Dagger" will still ring out in the Windy City in that time, as the Blackhawks are set to host a home game at Soldier Field against the Pittsburgh Penguins on March 1. 

[MORE: Dollar daze for Blackhawks, Bears]

One other change that comes with this year's schedule is the league's new alignment, and with that, new division names. While the Pacific, Central and Atlantic Division names will remain the same, the NHL now includes the Metropolitan Division -- AKA the old Atlantic Division. The realignment also means each team will see every other NHL team in their city at least once, which will be quite a change coming off a lockout-shortened season.

[RELATED: Blackhawks agree to terms with Beach]

Here's a look at the complete Blackhawks regular-season schedule:

Date   Opponent Time
OCTOBER
Tue., Oct. 1 Washington 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Oct. 5 Tampa Bay 7:00 p.m.
Wed., Oct. 9 at St. Louis 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Oct. 11 New York Islanders 7:30 p.m.
Sat., Oct. 12 Buffalo 7:00 p.m
Tues., Oct. 15 at Carolina 6:00 p.m.
Thur., Oct. 17 St. Louis 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Oct. 19 Toronto 6:00 p.m.
Tues., Oct. 22 at Florida 6:30 p.m.
Thur., Oct. 24 at Tampa Bay 6:30 p.m.
Sat., Oct. 26 Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Mon., Oct. 28 at Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Tues., Oct. 29 Ottawa 7:00 p.m.
NOVEMBER
Sat., Nov. 2 at Winnipeg 2:00 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 3 Calgary 6:00 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 6 Winnipeg 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Nov. 9 at Dallas 7:00 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 10 Edmonton 6:00 p.m.
Thur., Nov. 14 Phoenix 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Nov. 16 at Nashville 7:00 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 17 San Jose 6:00 p.m.
Tues., Nov. 19 at Colorado 8:00 p.m.
Thur., Nov. 21 at Winnipeg 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Nov. 23 at Vancouver 9:00 p.m.
Mon., Nov. 25 at Edmonton 8:30 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 27 at Calgary 9:00 p.m.
Fri., Nov. 29 at Dallas 7:30 p.m.
Sat., Nov. 30 at Phoenix 7:00 p.m.
DECEMBER
Tues., Dec 3 Dallas 7:00 p.m.
Thur., Dec 5 at Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Dec. 6 Anaheim 7:00 p.m.
Sun. Dec. 8 Florida 6:00 p.m.
Tues. Dec. 10 at Dallas 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 11 Philadelphia 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Dec. 14 at Toronto 6:00 p.m.
Sun., Dec. 15 Los Angeles 6:00 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 17 at Nashville 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Dec. 20 Vancouver 7:00 p.m.
Mon., Dec. 23 New Jersey 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Dec. 27 Colorado 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Dec. 28 at St. Louis 7:00 p.m.
Mon., Dec. 30 Los Angeles 7:00 p.m.
JANUARY
Thurs., Jan. 2 at New York Islanders 6:00 p.m.
Fri., Jan. 3 at New Jersey 6:00 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 5 San Jose 7:00 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 8 New York Rangers 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Jan. 11 at Montreal 6:00 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 12 Edmonton 6:00 p.m.
Tues., Jan. 14 Colorado 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Jan. 17 Anaheim 7:00 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 19 Boston 2:00 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 22 at Detroit 7:00 p.m.
Thurs., Jan. 23 at Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 26 Winnipeg 6:00 p.m.
Tues., Jan. 28 at Calgary 8:00 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 29 at Vancouver 9:00 p.m.
FEBRUARY
Sat., Feb. 1 at San Jose 9:30 p.m.
Mon., Feb. 3 at Los Angeles 9:30 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 5 at Anaheim 9:00 p.m.
Fri., Feb. 7 at Pheonix 8:00 p.m.
Thurs., Feb. 27 at New York Rangers 6:00 p.m.
MARCH
Sat., March 1 Pittsburgh (at Soldier Field) 7:00 p.m.
Tues., March 4 Colorado 7:00 p.m.
Thurs., March 6 Columbus 7:00 p.m.
Sun., March 9 at Buffalo 6:30 p.m.
Wed., March 12 at Colorado 8:30 p.m.
Fri., March 14 Nashville 7:00 p.m.
Sun., March 16 Detroit 6:30 p.m.
Tues., March 18 at Philadelphia 6:30 p.m.
Wed., March 19 St. Louis 7:00 p.m.
Fri., March 21 Carolina 7:00 p.m.
Sun., March 23 Nashville 6:00 p.m.
Tues., March 25 Dallas 7:00 p.m.
Thurs., March 27 at Boston 6:00 p.m.
Fri., March 28 at Ottawa 6:30 p.m.
Sun. March 30 at Pittsburgh 6:30 p.m.
APRIL
Thurs., April 3 Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Fri., April 4 at Columbus 6:00 p.m.
Sun., April 6 St. Louis 6:30 p.m.
Wed., April 9 Montreal 6:30 p.m.
Fri., April 11 at Washington 6:00 p.m.
Sat., April 12 at Nashville 7:00 p.m.
All game times Central