Toews wins Selke Trophy

Toews wins Selke Trophy
June 14, 2013, 4:45 pm
Share This Post

Jonathan Toews can add another piece of hardware to his collection.

The Chicago Blackhawks captain won the Frank J. Selke Trophy, awarded to the league's best defensive forward, the NHL announced on Friday afternoon. It was the second time Toews was nominated for the award –- he was a finalist in 2010-11 -– and he’s the third player in Blackhawks history to win it (Troy Murray in 1986 and Dirk Graham in 1991).

Toews bested fellow Selke finalists Pavel Datsyuk of Detroit and Patrice Bergeron of Boston.

“It means the world,” Toews told the NHL Network. “It’s a tremendous feeling, first of all, when you’re mentioned in the same sentence as guys like Pavel Datsyuk and Patrice Bergeron. To go head to head against guys like that in the playoffs and know them from the past, you understand how much they meant to their teams and how much they contribute offensively and defensively. To be talked about in the same sentence as those guys is absolutely amazing, so it’s a special award to win.”

[RELATED: Blackhawks want to see power play improve in Game 2]

Toews finished the regular season with a career-high plus-28 rating; he was also tied atop the league with 56 takeaways. He ranked second on the team with 48 points (23 goals, 25 assists).

Ottawa’s Daniel Alfredsson won the Mark Messier Leadership Award, for which Toews was also a finalist.

Coach Joel Quenneville was a finalist for the Jack Adams Award, given to the season’s best coach, but Ottawa’s Paul MacLean was named the winner. MacLean finished with 206 points, Quenneville had 160. Tampa Bay's Martin St. Louis won the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, awarded to the player showing “sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” Patrick Kane was a finalist for the award.

Pittsburgh’s Ray Shero was named NHL General Manager of the Year, with Blackhawks general manager Stan Bowman finished fourth in the voting.