Blackhawks' Duncan Keith named a Norris Trophy finalist

Blackhawks' Duncan Keith named a Norris Trophy finalist
April 28, 2014, 10:00 am
Share This Post

Duncan Keith is among the finalists for the 2013-14 Norris Trophy, the NHL announced today.

The trophy, voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, is awarded annually to the defenseman “who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-around ability in the position.” Keith won the award in 2010.

Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruins and Shea Weber of the Nashville Predators are the other two Norris Trophy finalists.

Keith had a stellar regular season for the Blackhawks. His 55 assists tied a career high set in 2009-10 and his 61 points were second among NHL defensemen this season. Keith played in 79 games, sitting the final two regular-season contests after the Blackhawks had clinched a postseason berth. He finished a plus-22 and logged an average ice time of 24 minutes, 38 seconds.

[MORE: Duncan Keith steals the show in Game 6 win]

“It’s a huge honor to be nominated for the Norris Trophy,” Keith said in a statement. “I wouldn’t be nominated without having great teammates and a great defense partner in Brent Seabrook. It’s a special feeling to be up for this award.”

Earlier this season, teammates talked of Keith’s Norris worthiness, regardless of his scoring numbers.

“He’s getting the (Norris) recognition now because his points and offensive numbers are high,” Patrick Sharp said. “But we know how valuable he is in all different areas.”

Other previous Blackhawks who have won the Norris include Pierre Pilote (1963, 1964, 1965), Doug Wilson (1982) and Chris Chelios (1993, 1996).

The winner will be announced at the NHL Awards Show in Las Vegas on June 24.