Toews' goal disallowed in second period for goalie interference

Toews' goal disallowed in second period for goalie interference
May 18, 2014, 4:00 pm
Share This Post

The Chicago Blackhawks thought they had a 2-0 advantage, courtesy of Jonathan Toews, early in the second period on Sunday. They soon found out otherwise.

Toews' goal, which went off Slava Voynov's skate, was disallowed much to the chagrin of the United Center crowd. It was ruled a goal on the ice before heading to the review booth, but the league said that changed after an on-ice discussion by officials.

[WATCH: Saad gives Blackhawks early lead in Game 1]

Here is the official explanation for the call, via the NHL Situation Room blog:

"At 3:22 of the second period in the Los Angeles Kings/Chicago Blackhawks game, the referee consulted video review to see if Jonathan Toews' initial shot entered the Los Angeles net. It was determined Toews' initial shot did not enter the net. The referee's original call on the ice was "good goal" but a discussion between the on-ice officials resulted in a "no goal" decision because Toews made incidental contact with Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick before the puck crossed the goal line. This is not a reviewable play therefore the decision on the ice stands - no goal and no penalty."

The Kings tied the game about a minute after that call, with Tyler Toffoli putting Los Angeles on the board. Duncan Keith put the Blackhawks back up by a goal, 2-1, later in the second period.