Bears unveil 2013 schedule

Bears unveil 2013 schedule
April 18, 2013, 7:45 pm
Share This Post

The schedule makers have spoken and the Bears have gotten some possible small advantages for a team settling in with a new coaching staff and multiple new starters on offense.

For the first time since 1999 the Bears have their first two games at home, against Cincinnati on Sept. 8 and against Minnesota on Sept. 15. The catch: Both the Bengals and Vikings were 2012 playoff teams.

The Bears also won’t have the disruption of a Thursday or Monday night game until six weeks into the season when they host the New York Giants on Thursday Oct. 10.

[More: Moon predicts Bears will go 10-6]

Later-season games are subject to flex scheduling but the Bears currently have 12 games starting at noon on Sundays. The only exceptions are the Giants, week three’s Sunday night game in Pittsburgh, Monday night at Green Bay on Nov. 4 (coming after the off week), and Monday Dec. 9 at home against the Dallas Cowboys.

The season wraps with a Dec. 29 game in Soldier Field against the Packers. The Packers have just two non-Sunday games themselves: the MNF game with the Bears and Thanksgiving Day against the Lions in Detroit.

The preseason begins on Friday Aug. 9 against the Panthers in Carolina. The home opener comes on Thursday Aug. 15 against the San Diego Chargers.

That is followed by a road trip to Oakland for a Thursday night game against the Raiders. The preseason concludes, for the 10th straight year, on Thursday Aug. 29 against the Cleveland Browns, this year in Chicago.

 

Week Date Opponent Time TV
 1 Sun., Sept. 8 vs. Cincinnati Noon CBS
 2 Sun. Sept. 15  vs  Minnesota  Noon FOX
 3 Sun., Sept. 22  at  Pittsburgh  7:30 NBC
 4 Sun. Sept. 29  at  Detroit  Noon  FOX
 5  Sun., Oct. 6  vs  New Orleans  Noon  FOX
 6

Thu., Oct. 10

vs
 New York  7:25  NFLN
 7  Sun., Oct. 20  at  Washington  Noon  FOX
 8  Sun., Oct. 26   BYE WEEK      
 9  Mon., Nov. 4  at  Green Bay  7:40  ESPN
 10  Sun, Nov. 10  vs
 Detroit  Noon  FOX
 11  Sun., Nov. 17  vs  Baltimore  Noon  CBS
 12  Sun., Nov. 24  at  St. Louis  Noon  FOX
 13  Sun., Dec. 1  at    Minnesota  Noon  FOX
 14  Mon., Dec. 9 vs  Dallas  7:40 ESPN
 15  Sun., Dec. 15  at  Cleveland  Noon  FOX
 16  Sun., Dec. 22  at  Philadelphia  Noon  FOX
 17  Sun., Dec. 29  vs    Green Bay  Noon FOX