Urlacher to receive Ed Block Courage Award

Urlacher to receive Ed Block Courage Award
April 9, 2012, 9:28 pm
Share This Post

He has been effectively the face of the franchise for much of the past decade and came back from a season-ending wrist injury in 2009 to earn selection to Pro Bowls in 2010 and 2011.

Now Brian Urlacher will receive the Bears Ed Block Courage Award on Tuesday, an award named for the long-time Baltimore Colts trainer and representing the Block Foundations commitment to work against child abuse.

One player from each of the 32 NFL teams is selected by vote. The award, symbolizing sportsmanship, professionalism and courage, has been won recently by Charles Tillman (2008), Israel Idonije (2009) and Anthony Adams (2010).