Crawford, Emery win Jennings Trophy

Crawford, Emery win Jennings Trophy
April 28, 2013, 9:00 pm
Share This Post

Corey Crawford's and Ray Emery’s performances this season earned the Chicago Blackhawks a lot of victories. On Sunday, it earned them some hardware, too.

Crawford and Emery earned the William M. Jennings Trophy, given to the goaltender(s) for the NHL team that allowed the fewest goals against them in a season. In a normal season, goalies are required to play a minimum of 25 games to be eligible for the trophy. In the last lockout-shortened season (1994-95) the minimum was dropped to 14 games.

The Blackhawks and Ottawa Senators were tied for goals allowed this season (102) entering Sunday, when the Senators played their makeup game against the Boston Bruins. As soon as the Bruins scored on the Senators late in the second period, the Blackhawks’ goaltenders earned the Jennings Trophy.

Crawford went 19-5-5 with a 1.94 goals-against average (.926 save percentage). Emery, who set an NHL mark in winning his first 12 games this season, went 17-1-0 with a 1.94 GAA (.922 save percentage). Each goalie also recorded three shutouts; the Blackhawks finished with seven total.

It’s the fourth time the Blackhawks goalie(s) have won the Jennings in franchise history. Ed Belfour won it the previous two times, in 1990-91, 1992-93 and in that lockout-shortened 1994-95 season.