Masterton Trophy nominations announced

Masterton Trophy nominations announced
April 24, 2012, 3:42 pm
Share This Post

Eastern Canada has taken over the nominations for this year's Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. The award is presented to a player who "best exemplifies the qualities of perserverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey."

The 2012 contenders are Ottawa's Daniel Alfredsson, Toronto's Joffrey Lupul, and Montreal's Max Pacioretty.

Alfredsson's accomplishments this season include returning for a 16th season with the Senators (the only team he's ever played for in the NHL), rallying his struggling team into an eighth place finish to qualify for the playoffs, and polishing off the regular season with a plus-16 rating. Alfie was also a captain of the 2012 All-Star Game, alongside Zdeno Chara.

Lupul had his career-best season, earning 67 points and firing in 25 goals, despite playing only 66 games after recovering from back surgery.

In March of 2011, Pacioretty sustained a fractured vertebrae and concussion after an unforgettable hit by Chara. His comeback from a career-threatening injury impressed the hockey world as he scored 33 goals and earned a total of 65 points. He became the first American player to score 30 times in the history of the Canadiens' organization.

The top contenders for General Manager of the Year are expected to be released Tuesday as well.