Deng named to all-defensive second team

Deng named to all-defensive second team
May 23, 2012, 6:27 pm
Share This Post

Bulls All-Star Luol Deng made the NBA all-defensive second team, the league announced Wednesday.

Joining Deng, who received six first-place votes, on the second team are Defensive Player of the Year Tyson Chandler of the Knicks, Lakers guard Kobe Bryant and Celtics teammates Rajon Rondo and Kevin Garnett.

On the first team are Chicago native Tony Allen of the Grizzlies, league shot-blocking leader Serge Ibaka of the Thunder, league rebounding leader and former Defensive Player of the Year Dwight Howard of the Magic, league steals leader Chris Paul of the Clippers and league MVP LeBron James of the Heat, who was the leading vote-getter.

Other Bulls who received votes were center Joakim Noah, point guard Derrick Rose and power forward Carlos Boozer.

The all-defensive teams were selected by the league's head coaches, who aren't permitted to vote for their own players.