Wednesday's no-hitter trivia

Wednesday's no-hitter trivia
May 3, 2012, 5:56 am
Share This Post

After Jered Weaver's no-hitter against the Twins, no fewer than eight pitchers who started Wednesday have thrown one.

A.J. Burnett (PIT) -- No-hitter thrown May 12, 2001
Justin Verlander (DET) -- No-hitters thrown June 12, 2007 & May 7, 2011
Carlos Zambrano (MIA) -- No-hitter thrown Sept. 14, 2008
Jonathan Sanchez (KC) -- No-hitter thrown July 10, 2009
Roy Halladay (PHI) -- No-hitters thrown May 29, 2010 & Oct. 6, 2010
Edwin Jackson (WSH) -- No-hitter thrown June 25, 2010
Philip Humber (CHW) -- No-hitter thrown April 21, 2012
Jered Weaver (LAA) -- No-hitter thrown May 2, 2012

It was also 95 years to the day after the Cubs' Hippo Vaughn and the Reds' Fred Toney hooked up in an epic duel of no-hitters through 9 innings (Toney pitched a 10-inning no-hitter while Vaughn finally broke down, giving up a run on two hits).

And Thursday marks the one-year anniversary of Francisco Liriano's no-hitter at US Cellular Field.

(stay tuned for more no-hit mania on Saturday)