Bulls open regular season in Miami

Bulls open regular season in Miami
August 6, 2013, 4:45 pm
Share This Post

As suspected, the Bulls will kick off the 2013-14 NBA regular season in the same place last spring’s playoff run ended, Miami’s American Airlines Arena, where they will take on the defending champion Heat on Oct. 29.

The matchup will technically be the second game of the league’s campaign—following a contest between Indiana and Orlando an hour earlier—and will feature the Heat accepting their 2013 championship rings. It’s unlikely to be former league MVP Derrick Rose’s initial return, since the point guard is slated to play in the preseason, but the Chicago native will get a chance to back up his recent proclamation that he’s the NBA’s best player against two-time reigning MVP LeBron James.

[RELATED: Deng felt 'life was in danger' during playoff illness

Also in the first week of the regular season, the Bulls will host New York in their Halloween home opener Oct. 31 at the United Center at 7 p.m.

The league announced its entire regular-season slate Tuesday afternoon and even aside from the opener, the Bulls, who are scheduled to appear on national television 33 times, will be heavily showcased.

[MORE: Jimmy Butler's offensive rebounding prowess

Additionally, the team will play in the one of the NBA’s Christmas Day affairs for the fourth straight year, facing the revamped Nets at 11 a.m. Central in Brooklyn, whom the Bulls ousted from the postseason in May. The Bulls will also participate in the league’s annual Martin Luther King Day showcase, hosting the Lakers at the United Center on Jan. 20 at 7 p.m.

Miami will visit Chicago twice in the upcoming season, with games at the United Center on Dec. 5 and March 9, though the Bulls won’t make a return trip to South Florida after the season opener.

[ALSO: Bulls announce 2013-14 preseason schedule

The annual “Circus Trip,” beginning Nov. 21 and ending Nov. 30, isn’t quite as arduous as it’s been in the past, with six games in 10 nights, starting with a Western Conference swing against the Nuggets, Trail Blazers, Clippers and Jazz, before road games against improved Central Division rivals Detroit and Cleveland. Another six-game road trip lasts from Jan. 29 until Feb. 9 and is strictly a West Coast journey, with matchups against the Spurs, Pelicans, Kings, Suns, Warriors and Lakers.

The local broadcast schedule for the Bulls, who play 17 sets of back-to-back games, will be announced at a later date in the near future.

Date   Opponent Time
OCTOBER
Tues., Oct. 29 at Miami 7:00 p.m.
Thurs., Oct. 31 vs. New York 7:00 p.m.
NOVEMBER
Sat., Nov. 2 at Philadelphia 6:30 p.m.
Wed. Nov. 6 at Indiana 6:00 p.m.
Fri., Nov. 8 vs. Utah 7:00 p.m.
Mon., Nov. 11 vs. Cleveland 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Nov. 15 at Toronto 6:00 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 16 vs. Indiana 7:00 p.m.
Mon., Nov 18 vs. Charlotte 7:00 p.m.
Thurs., Nov. 21 at Denver 9:30 p.m.
Fri., Nov. 22 at Portland 9:00 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 24 at Los Angeles Clippers 2:30 p.m.
Mon., Nov. 25 at Utah 8:00 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 27 at Detroit 6:30 p.m.
Sat., Nov. 30 at Cleveland 6:30 p.m.
DECEMBER
Mon., Dec. 2 vs. New Orleans 7:00 p.m.
Thurs., Dec. 5 vs. Miami 8:30 p.m.
Sat., Dec. 7 vs. Detroit 7:00 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 10 vs. Milwaukee 7:00 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 11 at New York 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Dec. 13 at Milwaukee 7:30 p.m.
Sat., Dec. 14 vs. Toronto 7:00 p.m.
Mon., Dec. 16 vs. Orlando 7:00 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 18 at Houston 8:30 p.m.
Thurs., Dec. 19 at Oklahoma City 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Dec. 21 vs. Cleveland 7:00 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 25 at Brooklyn 11:00 a.m.
Sat., Dec. 28 vs. Dallas 7:00 p.m.
Mon., Dec. 30 at Memphis 6:00 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 31 vs. Toronto 6:00 p.m.
JANUARY
Thurs., Jan. 2 vs. Boston 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Jan. 4 vs. Atlanta 7:00 p.m.
Tues., Jan. 7 vs. Phoenix 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Jan. 10 at Milwaukee 7:30 p.m.
Sat., Jan. 11 vs. Charlotte 7:00 p.m.
Mon., Jan. 13 vs. Washington 7:00 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 15 at Orlando 6:00 p.m.
Fri., Jan. 17 at Washington 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Jan. 18 vs. Philadelphia 7:00 p.m.
Mon., Jan. 20 vs. Los Angeles Lakers 7:00 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 22 at Cleveland 6:00 p.m.
Fri., Jan. 24 vs. Los Angeles Clippers 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Jan. 25 at Charlotte 6:00 p.m.
Mon., Jan. 27 vs. Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 29 at San Antonio 8:30 p.m.
FEBRUARY
Sat., Feb. 1 at New Orleans 7:00 p.m.
Mon., Feb. 3 at Sacramento 9:00 p.m.
Tues., Feb. 4 at Phoenix 8:00 p.m.
Thurs., Feb. 6 at Golden State 9:30 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 9 at Los Angeles Lakers 2:30 p.m.
Tues., Feb. 11 vs. Atlanta 7:00 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 19 at Toronto 6:00 p.m.
Fri., Feb. 21 vs. Denver 7:00 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 23 at Miami 2:30 p.m.
Tues., Feb. 25 at Atlanta 6:30 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 26 vs. Golden State 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Feb. 28 at Dallas 7:30 p.m.
MARCH
Sun., March 2 vs. New York Noon
Mon., March 3 at Brooklyn 6:30 p.m.
Wed., March 5 at Detroit 6:30 p.m.
Fri., March 7 vs. Memphis 5:00 p.m.
Sun., March 9 vs. Miami Noon
Tues., March 11 vs. San Antonio 7:00 p.m.
Thurs., March 13 vs. Houston 6:00 p.m.
Sat., March 15 vs. Sacramento 7:00 p.m.
Mon., March 17 vs. Oklahoma City 7:00 p.m.
Wed., March 19 at Philadelphia 6:00 p.m.
Fri., March 21 at Indiana 6:00 p.m.
Sat., March 22 vs. Philadelphia 7:00 p.m.
Mon., March 24 vs. Indiana 7:00 p.m.
Fri., March 28 vs. Portland 7:00 p.m.
Sun., March 30 at Boston 6:00 p.m.
Mon., March 31 vs. Boston 7:00 p.m.
APRIL
Wed., April 2 at Atlanta 6:30 p.m.
Fri., April 4 vs. Milwaukee 7:00 p.m.
Sat., April 5 at Washington 6:00 p.m.
Wed., April 9 at Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Fri., April 11 vs. Detroit 7:00 p.m.
Sun., April 13 at New York Noon
Mon., April 14 vs. Orlando 7:00 p.m.
Wed., April 16 at Charlotte 7:00 p.m.
Mon., March 17 vs. Oklahoma City 7:00 p.m.
Wed., March 19 at Philadelphia 6:00 p.m.
Fri., March 21 at Indiana 6:00 p.m.
Sat., March 22 vs. Philadelphia 7:00 p.m.
All game times Central