Big Ten announces 2014 football schedule

Big Ten announces 2014 football schedule
May 16, 2013, 12:00 pm
Share This Post
CSN Staff

The Big Ten announced its conference football schedule for the 2014 season, the first season that will feature 14 teams with the additions of Maryland and Rutgers. The season will also be the first to feature the conference's new divisions, as East and West divisions will replace the current Legends and Leaders divisions.

The season's first conference game is scheduled for Sept. 13, when new member Rutgers hosts Penn State. Two weeks later, nine more Big Ten schools get their conference schedules underway, with Ohio State, Michigan State and Wisconsin waiting until Oct. 4 to begin their respective conference slates. The Big Ten posted the full schedule on its website.

Illinois kicks off its conference schedule at Nebraska on Sept. 27, and fans in Champaign will see division-rival Purdue the following weekend. The Illini will host Minnesota, Iowa and Penn State and travel to play road games at Wisconsin and Ohio State before closing their season at Northwestern on Nov. 29.

The Wildcats, meanwhile, open their Big Ten campaign at Penn State on Sept. 27, and they'll host Wisconsin the following week for their first conference home game. Pat Fitzgerald's squad will make in-conference trips to Minnesota, Iowa and Purdue in addition to hosting games against Michigan, Nebraska and the Illini.

[More: Big Ten announces division, schedule changes]

Neither Illinois-based school will host new members Maryland and Rutgers, as each Big Ten team will play just two games out of conference. Both new schools will play Wisconsin in non-division games, with Maryland facing Iowa and Rutgers taking on Nebraska in their second respective non-division contests. The 2014 and 2015 seasons will be the last to feature an eight-game conference schedule before the Big Ten switches to nine conference games for the 2016 season.