Report: 'Catholic 7' will keep 'Big East' name for next season

Report: 'Catholic 7' will keep 'Big East' name for next season
February 28, 2013, 9:00 pm
Share This Post

The Big East will live on after this academic year, at least in name.

The so-called "Catholic 7" alliance of DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, St. John's, Seton Hall and Villanova will keep the Big East moniker while adding Xavier and Butler for 2013-14, according to ESPN's Brett McMurphy and Andy Katz.

Keeping the Big East name is part of the agreement between the "Catholic 7" and the Big East's departing teams on how to manage the split that will see Pittsburgh and Syracuse depart to the ACC in the fall.

However, that leaves the fates unknown for Notre Dame, Louisville and Rutgers for next season, despite all three having commitments to join conferences in 2014.
Notre Dame and Louisville are both set to join the ACC, with Notre Dame possibly having the option to enter in a year early, or stay in the Big East for a single season. Rutgers will join the Big Ten in 2014, while Connecticut, Cincinnati and South Florida have yet to commit to any conference at all beyond the current season.

According to the report by Katz and McMurphy, Creighton could also join the re-formed Big East this fall, which will attempt to fill out to 12 teams in 2014 by inviting Dayton and St. Louis.

More Team Talk