Richardson, Paul named to All-Big Ten third team

Richardson, Paul named to All-Big Ten third team
March 11, 2013, 6:45 pm
Share This Post
Mark Strotman

Illinois guards Brandon Paul and D.J. Richardson were both named to the All-Big Ten third team, the conference announced Monday night.

Paul was also named a third team member, and Richardson an honorable mention by the media voting panel.

Paul ranked fourth in the conference in scoring (16.3 points), scoring double-figures in 15 of the Illini's 18 Big Ten contests. He also racked up 4.4 rebounds and 2.8 assists in nearly 32 minutes per game. The sharp-shooting Richardson finished the season third in 3-point makes (75), eighth in steals (1.5) and 18th in scoring (12.8 points). The pair of seniors led the Illini to a 21-11 record this season, including wins over Butler, Gonzaga, Ohio State and Indiana. The Illini likely have secured a spot in the NCAA Tournament.

John Groce's No. 8-seeded group will face off against the No. 9 Minnesota Golden Gophers on Thursday in the Big Ten Tournament. The two teams split the season series, each winning on the road, and the winner will face the top-seeded Indiana Hoosiers on Friday.

The All-Big Ten first team was led by two unanimous selections, Indiana's Victor Oladipo and Michigan's Trey Burke. Indiana's Cody Zeller, Ohio State's Deshaun Thomas and Michigan's Tim Hardaway Jr. rounded out the first team. Burke won player of the year while Oladipo took home defensive player of the year honors.

Wisconsin's Bo Ryan was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year, while Indiana's Will Sheehey was awarded the sixth man of the year.


Victor Oladipo, Indiana*
Cody Zeller, Indiana
Trey Burke, Michigan*
Tim Hardaway Jr., Michigan
Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State


Keith Appling, Michigan State
Gary Harris, Michigan State
Adreian Payne, Michigan State
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
Jared Berggren, Wisconsin


Brandon Paul, Illinois
D.J. Richardson, Illinois
Christian Watford, Indiana
Roy Devyn Marble, Iowa
Trevor Mbakwe, Minnesota
Terone Johnson, Purdue


Jordan Hulls, Indiana
Aaron White, Iowa
Derrick Nix, Michigan State
Andre Hollins, Minnesota
Dylan Talley, Nebraska
Jermaine Marshall, Penn State
D.J. Newbill, Penn State
Ben Brust, Wisconsin


Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Glenn Robinson III, Michigan
Gary Harris, Michigan State
A.J. Hammons, Purdue
Sam Dekker, Wisconsin


Victor Oladipo, Indiana*
Jordan Morgan, Michigan
Aaron Craft, Ohio State*
Shannon Scott, Ohio State
Jared Berggren, Wisconsin