Notre Dame lands several on early award watch lists

Notre Dame lands several on early award watch lists
July 8, 2014, 1:15 pm
Share This Post
CSN Staff

It's that time of year.

This week will see the release of preseason watch lists for the slew of college football awards, and things kicked off Monday when the Paul Hornung Award, the Maxwell Award and the Chuck Bednarik Award released their watch lists. The Rimington Trophy and John Mackey Award followed suit on Tuesday. And four of the five lists featured representatives from Notre Dame.

A year off didn't stop the Maxwell Award from putting Notre Dame quarterback Everett Golson on their watch list. The Maxwell Award is handed out each year to college football's best player, and there are high hopes for Golson to return to the form that he displayed during the 2012 season, when he led the Irish to the National Championship Game.

[MORE NOTRE DAME: Notre Dame WR Will Mahone no longer enrolled at university]

A pair of Irish defenders landed on the Chuck Bednarik Award watch list. Cornerback KeiVarae Russell and linebacker Jaylon Smith were among the 76 players named to the list.

Notre Dame tight end Ben Koyack is among those on the watch list for the John Mackey Award, which annually honors college football's top tight end. Center Nick Martin was one of the many centers included on the Rimington Trophy watch list. That award honors the nation's best center every year.

No Notre Dame player was included on the watch list for the Paul Hornung Award, which honors the most versatile player in college football. That's mildly ironic, considering Hornung played at Notre Dame.