Mannelly to receive Ed Block Courage Award from Bears

Mannelly to receive Ed Block Courage Award from Bears
March 7, 2014, 11:00 pm
Share This Post
CSN Staff

Patrick Mannelly may have played his last game with the Bears, but the longest-tenured member of the team will receive one of the team's most prestigious honors.

The veteran long-snapper will receive the Ed Block Courage Award on Tuesday, April 8 at a luncheon at Maryville Academy. The award is given to one player on each of the 32 NFL teams who serves as an inspiration, and illustrates sportsmanship and courage in the locker room.

[MORE -- Top 5: Devin Hester's greatest moments with the Bears]

"I've always believed that anytime you get an award from your teammates, that's one of the highest honors you can receive," Mannelly told Larry Mayer of "If your teammates are honoring you, it means a lot and this award means a lot to me.

"Physically, the last couple years have been a little more challenging than when I was younger. To overcome some of the injuries I've had has made these years a little more trying on this old body. But when your teammates recognize that and give you an award for your courage and sportsmanship, it means a lot."

[RELATED: Urlacher: 'Frustrating' to hear Bears not re-signing Hester]

Mannelly holds the Bears all-time record for both games (245) and seasons (16) played.

Previous winners for the Bears include: Nick Roach (2012), Brian Urlacher (2011), Anthony Adams (2010), Israel Idonije (2009) and Charles Tillman (2008).