Badgers stars headline Big Ten group at Senior Bowl

Badgers stars headline Big Ten group at Senior Bowl
January 23, 2014, 2:00 pm
Share This Post
Vinnie Duber

If you're planning on watching this weekend's Senior Bowl, expect to hear the word "Badgers" a lot.

There are five members of this season's Wisconsin team suiting up in the showcase, perhaps the most notable of the college football all-star games that put NFL Draft prospects on display. Wide receiver Jared Abbrederis, linebacker Chris Borland, running back James White, tight end Jacob Pedersen and defensive back Dez Southward make up the large Badger contingent.

That group contains some of the Big Ten's best players. Borland was the Big Ten's Defensive Player of the Year as well as Linebacker of the Year. He ranked third in the conference with 112 tackles. Abbrederis was a member of both the coaches and media All-Big Ten First Teams. He ranked fourth in the league with 83.2 receiving yards per game. White made up half of the potent running-back duo for the Badgers, teaming with Melvin Gordon to rush for a total of 3,053 yards. White individually rushed for 1,444 yards, the fourth-highest total in the Big Ten.

[MORE: Can Kain Colter go from Northwestern QB to NFL wideout?]

But while Wisconsin has the biggest traveling party, the Big Ten in general is well represented at this year's Senior Bowl, with 15 players total.

In addition to Borland, a pair of the conference's best linebackers will be in attendance: Illinois' Jonathan Brown and Iowa's Christian Kirksey. Brown was second in tackles, while Kirksey ranked 10th. Also on the defensive side of the ball are a pair of All-Big Ten First Team linemen in Minnesota's Ra'Shede Hageman and Penn State's DaQuan Jones. The two combined for 24.5 tackles for loss this season. Rounding out the defensive side are defensive backs Isaiah Lewis (Michigan State) and Stanley Jean-Baptiste (Nebraska).

On offense, the story will be Kain Colter, the Northwestern quarterback who has made the switch to wide receiver with hopes of making it at that position in the NFL. Other players include linemen Jack Mewhort (Ohio State) and Michael Schofield (Michigan) and tight end C.J. Fiedorowicz of Iowa.

The Senior Bowl kicks off at 3 p.m. Saturday in Mobile, Ala.