Familiar faces grace the 2013 Maxwell Award Watch List

Familiar faces grace the 2013 Maxwell Award Watch List
July 8, 2013, 10:00 am
Share This Post

Notre Dame's Stephon Tuitt, Louis Nix III, Northern Illinois' quarterback Jordan Lynch and Northwestern's running back Venric Mark were named to the 2013 Maxwell Award Watch List this morning.

The Maxwell Award has been given to the best player in college football since 1937, in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell.

Nix and Tuitt make up two of the six defensive players on the Watch List this season. Former teammate Manti T'eo won the Maxwell Award for his outstanding play on defense last year.

Nix started in 11 of 13 games for the Fighting Irish and led ND's defensive linemen with 50 tackles.

Tuitt led his team in sacks with 12 and had 47 seven tackles as a defensive end.

Jordan Lynch accompanies other quarterbacks like OSU's Braxton Miller, Alabama's AJ McCarron and Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel. All (not including Lynch) were 2012 Maxwell Award semi finalist last year.

Lynch led his NIU Huskies to a 12-1 season and the Orange Bowl. The quarterback threw for over three-thousand yards and had 1,815 yards on the ground.

Venric Mark is one in a long list of running backs, Oregon's De'Anthony Thomas, another 2012 semi finalist, is also in the mix for this years award.

The NU running back ran for 1,366 yards and 12 touch downs this year, averaging about six yards per carry.

Check out the full Watch List: