Big Ten announces division, schedule changes

Big Ten announces division, schedule changes
April 28, 2013, 2:15 pm
Share This Post
CSN Staff

A little over a week after it was first reported, the Big Ten is officially going away from legends and leaders.

The much-maligned division names will go away in 2014, when the conference adds Maryland and Rutgers and shifts to geographical division alignments. The Big Ten East will feature Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers, while the Big Ten West will be comprised of Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin.

In 2016, the Big Ten will roll out a nine-game conference schedule in which every team will play its division opponents six times and non-division opponents three times. The schedule will be set up so every Big Ten team will play each other in any given four-year stretch. The Big Ten hasn't had a nine-game conference schedule since 1983-1984, when the conference had 10 members.

For 2014 and 2015, the Big Ten will keep an eight-game conference schedule, meaning each team will play two non-division opponents per year on top of its six division games. The only cross-division matchup that is protected is between Indiana and Purdue, meaning the annual battle for the Old Oaken Bucket won't go away with division realignment.