Okafor, Alexander named to Men's Jr. National Team

Okafor, Alexander named to Men's Jr. National Team
January 20, 2014, 12:30 pm
Share This Post
CSN Staff

The roster for the USA Basketball Men's Junior National Team for the Nike Hoop Summit was announced Monday, headlined by Whitney Young's Jahlil Okafor. 

Okafor, a three-time goal metalist, will lead the 10-member team on April 12 at the Moda Center in Portland, Ore. Joining him will be two-time gold-metal winners Stanley Johnson (Fullterton, Calif.), Tyus Jones (Apple Valley, Minn.), Justise Winslow (Houston, Texas), Joel Berry (Apopka, Fla.) and Theo Pinson (Greensboro, N.C.).

[MORE: High School Lites roundup: Week 7]

Rounding out the list is fellow Chicago native Cliff Alexander, James Blackmon Jr. (Fort Wayne, Ind.), Kelly Oubre (Fort Bend, Texas) and Myles Turner (Bedford, Texas).

“We all are excited about this opportunity,” head coach Mike Jones said. “USA Basketball has once again assembled the best of the best from around the country. More than half of this team has international experience, and the others bring an intensity and fire to our team. We want to represent USA Basketball and our country as well as we possibly can. This is a blessing, and we all want to take advantage of it.

“We also know that our opponents will be the best coaches and players from around the world,” Jones continued. “We must meet the challenge of a team that will be well prepared and one that is full of talented and experienced players. Recent history adds to the game’s interest and ensures that the USA will be focused and will play with heart and effort to make USA Basketball and America proud.”