Hawk Harrelson named finalist for Ford C. Frick Award

Hawk Harrelson named finalist for Ford C. Frick Award
October 2, 2013, 11:00 am
Share This Post
Scott Krinch

Hawk Harrelson, who's in his 21st season in the White Sox television booth, has been named one of ten finalists for the 2014 Ford C. Frick Award.

The honor recognizes excellence in baseball broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

The other nine finalists for the award include: Joe Castiglione, Jacques Doucet, Bill King, Duane Kiper, Eric Nadel, Eduardo Ortega, Mike Shannon, Dewayne Staats and Pete van Wieren.

[RELATED: Ten moments that defined the 2013 White Sox season

In oder to be elgible for nomination, an active or retired broadcaster must have at least 10 years of MLB service with a team, network or both.

White Sox television color analyst Steve Stone, radio play-by-play announcer Ed Farmer, radio color analyst Darrin Jackson and Spanish play-by-play announcer Hector Molina were all nominated, but didn't make the final ten.

The 2014 winner of the Ford C. Frick Award will be announced during the Baseball Winter Meetings in Orlando in December.