No surprise: Sox shut out of Gold Glove awards

No surprise: Sox shut out of Gold Glove awards
October 25, 2013, 2:15 pm
Share This Post

After a dismal season in the field, no White Sox players are among the finalists named on Friday for Rawlings’ Gold Glove award.

The White Sox committed 121 errors this season and finished with a .980 fielding percentage, both of which ranked 14th among 15 teams in the American League.

Those figures fell drastically from the season before when the White Sox committed the fewest errors in the majors (70) and were tied for the MLB lead with a .988 percentage. The team’s pitching staff suffered as it saw its unearned runs-total increase from 30 in 2012 to 80 last season.

[MORE: White Sox to hire Steverson as new hitting coach]

Pitcher Jake Peavy, who was traded to Boston in July, shared a Gold Glove award in 2012 with Tampa Bay Rays pitcher Jeremy Hellickson.

A finalist in 2013, Mark Buehrle won a Gold Glove in three straight seasons for the White Sox from 2009-11.

Manager Robin Ventura is the last White Sox position player to have received the honor in 1998. Ventura was awarded a Gold Glove five times with the White Sox and once with the New York Mets in 1999.